ISOTT 2017

ISOTT 2017

45. Annual Meeting of ISOTT in Halle, Germany

Britton Chance Award

It was established in honor of Professor Chance’s long-standing commitment, interest and contributions to the science and engineering aspects of oxygen transport to tissue and to the society. This award was first presented in 2004 during the annual conference of ISOTT in Bari, Italy.




  • A candidate must not pass his/her 31th birthday before the date of presentation of the award.
  • The candidate must provide evidence of sustained research activities in the (or related) field of oxygen transport to tissue.
  • The candidate must be a member of ISOTT or eligible for the membership.
  • The candidate must submit one (or more) abstract(s) as a lead author, make a presentation of his/her research results during the annual ISOTT conference, and submit a manuscript to the ISOTT proceeding in the year when he/she is nominated.
  • A recipient who has previously received a Knisely Award may not be nominated for this award.
  • The candidate for this award may be simultaneously eligible for the Dietrich W. Lübbers Award in the year of the nomination, but a candidate may receive only one award.
  • A candidate who is unsuccessful in any given year can be re-nominated in a subsequent year if he/she meets the award criteria in the year of nomination.


The candidate must be nominated (self-nomination is not allowed), and the nominator must be ISOTT members. A full nomination package includes: a nomination letter; a copy of curriculum vitae demonstrating the candidate’s accomplishments; and a copy of first-author manuscript for the ISOTT proceeding in the year of nomination. Additional supporting materials may be included. Nominations with an incomplete package will not be considered.


The application should be submitted to the ISOTT President Dr. Oliver Thews via email (

Deadline: July 1st, 2017